Starting a business and life goals.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
So... I've got a new job, paid properly for my skills and experience, with benefits including a pension, and a permanent position providing I don't do anything silly by April 1st 2025.

It's also a 4 day week, and I'm getting paid the same as I am here for a 5 day week, which means one option is to try and start a business of my own. I'm currently working out how I might do this.

I don't have a lot of capital, but I have a number of skills, primarily in training people; I'm a state registered Occupational Therapist, which basically means I can train people with various problems.

It also means I have a trainer's certificate recognised by the Chamber of Commerce which is much more important in Germany than you might think; basically it means I can teach in colleges.

Before someone asks, opening a bike shop isn't an option, at least not yet. In order to get insurance I need to either have a "Master's Qualification" or have six years experience working in a bike shop, of which I think at least three need to be in a supervisory position. I'm about 3 1/2 years short of that right now. There are other ways around it but they're all a bit more involved that I'd like as yet.

The same applies to cabinet making which is my other qualification; ironically I have more experience fixing bikes anyway.

I'm also qualified to run an "integration company" where people with disabilities work in a "normal" job, but most of their salary is paid by the local government. A lot of people with disabilities want this, but there's a shortage of companies offering a place.

So... any thoughts on options? Teaching English may be one, which can be lucrative if I can persuade companies to take me on on a Monday.