Just how bad are drivers, in general?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've had plenty of experiences of bad driving - as driver, pedestrian and a cyclist. On Sunday morning I marshalled a cycle race. I thought it would be a fairly peaceful and relaxed affair stood at the side of a road for a few hours.

With what I saw I can safely say, at least based on anecdotal experience, the majority of drivers do not drive safely.
I was stood at a T-junction where one B road intersects with another. The cycle race was proceeding along the road that was "Tee'd off" and turning left into the T junction - so they were just turning left and not giving way. The majority of the motorised traffic was proceeding along the road that is terminated at the T junction - so the drivers were giving way. Then most drivers turned left, continuing along the road that the cyclists were turning off. Or coming in the other direction, and turning right.

This was quite good, or at least should have been, as a good portion of the traffic was not in anyway affected by the cyclists.

If we concentrate first on the drivers in general, the vast majority did not negotiate the junction correctly. Many did not indicate. When the junction was clear, the majority turning right out of it or turning right into it cut the corner. When the junction was busy, many drivers turning right into the junction clipped or mounted the kerb stones on the left hand side. It's not the largest junction, but I wouldn't describe it as particularly tight.

The junction was so busy at times, that there were queues of vehicles forming to turn left out of the junction. This created anxiety and impatience in a sizeable proportion of drivers.

A lot of drivers carried way too much speed through the junction. A lot of drivers were carrying out secondary tasks - including, in one case, map reading.

Onto the interactions between the motorists and the cyclists.