Which bike should I choose?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Moyster

Regular
Hi everyone, please forgive me in advance for any nonsense I may come out with. I am a complete novice to cycling and new to actually having a need for a bicycle other than for fun. Me and my partner have basically decided to downgrade to 1 car and as part of that i'm going to commute to and from work which is a 8 mile round trip. It's relatively all road and flat so nothing to challenging. I have a budget of £500 but I can go over if its beneficial to. I've got a few bikes in mind that i've seen essentially chosen because they are in a sale. I'll list them below with the one i was going to choose aswell. The reason i have chose a hybrid bike is just because i might use it on a weekend for something else aswell depending on if i really enjoy cycling or not.

Trek FX 1 ST £375.00 ( This was my choice just based on price ofcourse)

Trek FX 1 Hybrid Bike £419.00

Trek FX 2 Disc Hybrid Bike £489.00

Pinnacle Neon 1 Hybrid Bike £519

Cannondale CX 3 Hybrid Bike £549

I've gone over budget on some just based on their discounts aswell but these gernally the choices i have right now but i'm completely open to anything else that's going suit me alot better for my commute and just generally be alot better long term.

stalagmike

Enormous member
Those all look like solid choices. I would check which ones have the eyes to fit a rack as you might find you’d like panniers to carry a laptop or change of clothes. I suspect they all will if they are sold as hybrids but worth checking. I understand that disc brakes will have more stopping power in the rain (I’ve never owned a bike with them so can’t say first hand), so that might swing it for you if you are going to commute all weathers.

All uphill

Still rolling along
Hi and welcome.