Sintered metal pads vs resin: appearance

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

roubaixtuesday

self serving virtue signaller
Sintered metal pads are recommended as essential for tandem use due to the heat generated melting resin ones. I've no previous experience of these different types.

On starting our tour, we needed to urgently source some and separately did this online (generic from French Amazon) and then also managed to get some from a reputable LBS in Portsmouth by the ferry port, who assured us they are sintered (we found these rather hard to get from bike shops).

On changing for the first time, the old pads were dark grey, as were the generic French ones. The ones from the LBS are, however, pale brown (see pic).

Accordingly, we've used the generic ones until now, and they've worked fine, but I think we're going to run out before getting home (they typically last a couple of thousand km)

So the question is: can you tell the material by the colour, and do I have resin pads, or am I worrying unnecessarily?

We'll be in Prague in a few days, so an opportunity to get the right ones should present, though I'm doubtful of my ability to communicate my needs in Czech!

1000007473.jpg

C R

Guru
Sintered metal pads are recommended as essential for tandem use due to the heat generated melting resin ones. I've no previous experience of these different types.

On starting our tour, we needed to urgently source some and separately did this online (generic from French Amazon) and then also managed to get some from a reputable LBS in Portsmouth by the ferry port, who assured us they are sintered (we found these rather hard to get from bike shops).

On changing for the first time, the old pads were dark grey, as were the generic French ones. The ones from the LBS are, however, pale brown (see pic).