Scared of bike shops!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RubySoho

Regular
Hi! Enthusiastic commuter/fitness type that knows f all about technical stuff, but would like to learn so I can stop apologising for not knowing how to fix bikes every time I put my bike in the shop to get fixed! I've had some humiliating experiences with snooty shop types...

shouldbeinbed

Rollin' along
Seek a bike maintenance course, Edinburgh Bike Cooperative (the shop chain) do them & female specific events if that is an issue, local city cycling groups may do workshop sessions &/or tool hire with friendly advice thrown in, the local council or transport executive will run them too.
You can pick your level and have guided hands on tuition for a few tenners.

Youtube is also your friend - plenty of how to vids from companies and individuals. Have a google for Park Tools, they have a comprehensive and v good tech section. When you're feeling a bit more confident have a look online for Sheldon Brown's site.

You can either practice on your own pride and joy or maybe hunt Gumtree or the local free ads for a dirt cheap beaten up bike that you can use as your guinea pig without worrying about hurting the one you love ;). Simple things to practice like Chains, cables, brake blocks can be got from Asda for a few quid. You never know you could fettle up a nice usable runabout for peanuts and a wealth of experience to keep you away from snotty bike shop snobbery.

I'd also shop around for a nicer bike shop to be your local one, there are some lovely people with a yen for bikes. I only know Edinburgh as a tourist tho so no local recommendations, sorry.

Jimidh

Veteran
I'm crap at fixing things and not in the slightest bit embarrassed about it.

I'll do punctures and tyre changes but anything else goes to the bike shop so guys that actually know what they are doing can fix it properly.

Jimidh

Veteran