Hello from Kirkcaldy, Scotland!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi guys,

I'm Darren, bought a road bike about 4-5 months ago and been on it once, however, looking to become more active on it now.

Ideally, I'd love to commute to work - it's about 15 miles each way, but I'm terrified of other road users despite being a driver myself.

I'm signed up for the Caledonia Etape in May (http://etapecaledonia.co.uk/), so I really need to put some miles in to train for that.

Looking forward to meeting other people, learning stuff and so forth!

Cheers,
Darren

ACS

Legendary Member
:welcome: from up the road. Commuting is a great way of getting some miles in.

rugby bloke

Veteran
Welcome Darren. Start with a few easy rides to build up your confidence and take it from there. Hopefully the weather will start to improve so it will be a bit more bike friendly ! What is your commute like - busy A roads or do you have the option of taking more traffic free routes. Even now I'm pretty spoked by riding in busy traffic.

Either way you will pick up lots of advice from the people on here.

IBarrett

Über Member
Hi and Welcome.

My advice would be to find a 5 mile circuit you can do regularly to build up your strength for the commute. It will also give you confidence around other road users.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Ideally, I'd love to commute to work - it's about 15 miles each way, but I'm terrified of other road users despite being a driver myself.
Your local council says "If you have forgotten how to even ride a bike there are courses available email travel.plan@fife.gov.uk to find out when the next event will take place" - email them and explain you're nervous of other road users and ask when the next courses are?

OP
OP
darrentaytay

darrentaytay

Über Member
Thanks for the welcomes guys, already some solid advice!