Scottish Mountain Road Climb

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
on a road that was never built up Aonach Mòr, near Fort William
14 Switchbacks. It would have become a great road cyclist destination if it was actually built back in the day

BBC Report HERE

f2f7a770-7410-11ef-b59f-b53f8ba925f4.jpg

AndyRM

XOXO
Could always give Bealach na Bà a shot...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bealach_na_Bà

Fewer switchbacks, but absolutely brutal and vaguely terrifying especially on two wheels!

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
I had the stopping distance of an oil tanker before I changed to disc brakes.
I have had some scary experiences of that. Once was descending a very steep lane directly onto a busy A-road... I finally stopped with my front wheel sticking out into the traffic!!! :eek:

The solution to that issue was to scrub off the oily film which had built up on the rims' braking surfaces.

Dogtrousers

Kilometre nibbler
I had dipped out twice before I finally did it. Wet weather and rim brakes frightened me off because of the long descent. I had the stopping distance of an oil tanker before I changed to disc brakes.
My big climb challenge this year was the Grand Colombier. Took me a while to get down as I had to keep stopping to uncramp my hands from braking and let the rims cool off a bit. My stopping power wasn't that great either.

Donger

Convoi Exceptionnel