Ride with gps

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm a bit of a tech numpty, so please be gentle with me! Just discovered a local cycling club that plan their routes using ride with gps and publish them before the ride. As my weight is increasing rapidly, and my mental health is going downhill again, I'm tempted to have a ride out with the club to get me going again. My question, is there anyway of downloading their rides to strava or my garmin 305 without paying the monthly subscription to RWGPS, I'm pretty new to the area so would probably like to do a few of their rides before joining them as I would like to make sure I'm up to speed and don't get dropped on my 1st ride 😀

Biggler

Veteran
I'm not a paid member of RWGPS but I'm able to do this with my own routes.
1720112827129.png

1720112803207.png

Aravis

Putrid Donut
^ Wot he said
Yes. The only think I'd add is that I find it beneficial to reduce the number of points to about a third of the number RwGPS produces by default - 3000 down to 1000 for example. You can't do this in free RwGPS so I load the GPX file into BikeHike and do it there before copying it to my device. If BikeHike is unavailable the reduction can be done in Plotaroute but it's a bit more fiddly.

T4tomo

Legendary Member
Yes. The only think I'd add is that I find it beneficial to reduce the number of points to about a third of the number RwGPS produces by default - 3000 down to 1000 for example. You can't do this in free RwGPS so I load the GPX file into BikeHike and do it there before copying it to my device. If BikeHike is unavailable the reduction can be done in Plotaroute but it's a bit more fiddly.

this may be an unnecessary complication, given its not really a RWGPS plotted route
local cycling club that plan their routes using ride with gps and publish them before the ride