Individual cassette sprockets?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

simmi

Über Member
Does anyone know a good site in the UK where you can purchase individual sprockets, I am after a 14T 9 speed shimano compatible highest cog which I was hoping I could buy on its own without the £30 or so expence of buying the whole cassette.
I am quite new to this and am really just messing about with various cassette ratios to see what works best for me.

Not available as individual items. Why do you want one?

andrew_s

Legendary Member
Note that sprockets come in different versions depending on what the adjacent sprocket is, so the ramps and things for easy shifting line up properly.
It won't matter for the smallest sprocket, but it you mix and match others failure to get it right will affect shifting. I recommend a bit of googling.

Also, the top gear cog has ridges on the outside face for the lockring. Shimano do a 14-25 cassette (iirc) for junior racing (restricted gears), so it may be worth finding the cassette model number and trying for that 14T sprocket rather than a normal one.
Individual sprockets are also available from Germany

ricnott

If you know what type of cassette you could check E-bay for old ones to take apart for the individual rings. I discovered that shimano cassettes are held together with a small allen headed screw so you could dismantle and build up your own custom ratios.

PpPete

Legendary Member
I discovered that shimano cassettes are held together with a small allen headed screw so you could dismantle and build up your own custom ratios.
SRAM ones are like this. Some of the cheaper Shimano ones are riveted together. You can grind off the head of the rivet on the back of the cassette quite easily, and it doesnt have to be all bolted together again to work so long as the lockring is tight.

However the 14T is usually one of loose sprockets anyway.