How should a hub feel spinning?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mitxel

Hi! I'm new here, my dad has given me his 2013 Cannondale Scalpel and I'm slowly teaching myself some maintenance and working out what does and doesn't need doing with the bike (he hadn't ridden it for quite a long time and it sat unused). While doing some unrelated work I detached the front wheel and was curious to feel it spin in my hands on the hub.

I was pleased to see it spins so freely that if I lift it without even nudging it, the heaviest part of the wheel gently spins to the bottom on its own - I assume this is a sign the bearings and hub are in great condition still.

But when the wheel spins I feel a little bit of resistance, I'm guessing this is just the feeling of the hub turning over the bearings? But I worry this could mean grit or some other issue. I've never done this before so I have no concept of how it should feel and I'm a bit OCD for details. Just wondering if someone could tell me if that bit of resistance is normal for a well maintained/greased hub and bearings.

Hope this question makes sense. Thanks in advance!

Paulus

Started young, and still going.
Good morning and welcome @Mitxel
As the hub is running free and easily, it would seem to be ok. If it had grit or other rubbish inside you would hear it and feel it when the hub is turning. Rarely does grit get inside the races, but water can and wash out the grease, but then you would hear and feel that the bearings need some attention.

OP
OP
M

Mitxel

So a little drag is normal? That's good to hear, thank you. I sort of wish I had a brand new wheel I could feel for comparison. I might be too detail oriented sometimes.

What would it feel like if the grease had been washed out or was running out? As it turns all I can hear is the gentle sound of the wheel itself turning, if I spin it fast enough I feel like I can hear a light 'brush' when the valve passes me.