Hello there, newbie from London here!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

peachbrella

Newbie here!

I'm extremely new to cycling after attending a couple of brilliant council-funded classes over the past months. I'm looking to start commuting to work and university - I'm building up to it while I practice with shorter trips around the neighbourhood :smile: I'm very happy to have found this place!

Mattonsea

Über Member
Hi ,:welcome:. Just don't mention greeting other cyclists or the pros and cons of wearing a helmet , and you should be fine:laugh:

jonny jeez

Legendary Member
Newbie here!

I'm extremely new to cycling after attending a couple of brilliant council-funded classes over the past months. I'm looking to start commuting to work and university - I'm building up to it while I practice with shorter trips around the neighbourhood :smile: I'm very happy to have found this place!
Watcha.

And welcome to cyclechat.

Plenty of us on here that commute through and around London (me included). You'll not be short of advice.

I'df you have any questions that the course didn't answer, we may be able to help with the guIde that we produced to assist riders thinking of commuting through cities.

https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/the-essential-guide-for-new-commuters.56622/

J

OP
OP
peachbrella

peachbrella

Hi ,:welcome:. Just don't mention greeting other cyclists or the pros and cons of wearing a helmet , and you should be fine:laugh:

Thank you kindly :smile: and... I'm not sure what's up re: greeting other cyclists...?! Should I know?!
:welcome: Are you heading to the Freecycle in central London on Saturday? :smile:

I signed up for it but I'm not sure if I'll actually go! I'm pretty intimidated at the idea of getting there in the first place. I'll see how the rest of my week goes and I'll gauge for myself whether to try :smile:

Watcha.

And welcome to cyclechat.