Hello from Surrey, UK

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LauraMagsGreen

Hiya, total novice from rural Surrey here, only ever really been a bike commuter and have no bike-riding chums in real life to bore to death/pinch some knowledge from!

Currently riding a Fuji Absolute 1.3 in exactly the state it arrived in, considering making a few changes or (I don't want to but might have to) switching over to something else. Here to read what other people are up to and find out a bit more!

Reactions: mjr

welsh dragon

Thanks but no thanks. I think I'll pass.
Hello and welcome to the forum :welcome:

lazybloke

Priest of the cult of Chris Rea
Hi @LauraMagsGreen and welcome,
You've perked my interest by mentioning Guildford, as I work there a few days a week and have been commuting (by bike). I don't think much of the rush hour traffic in Guildford, so have been using Route 2 from Darren's link above - the North Downs Trackway. Getting very muddy now, but in summer it was a delightful woodland ride in dappled shade.

If you prefer road cycling have a look at the Evans Sportive, run by their local store in Woodbridge Meadows. I did the event back in July but it's about to be repeated - a good way to meet up with some other cyclists.

OP
OP
LauraMagsGreen

LauraMagsGreen

Thank you everyone!

Darren, that's the website of dreams, I had no idea it existed, thank you!!

Thanks for the info on that, lazybloke, I'll have a look! The Sportive looks ace, do they let trundlers in?! Rush hour is a bit gnarly eh, I've been looking at the tow path (I live a little way upriver) which is an easy way into town for me. Those routes on the link are a great way to get me out of my comfort zone, and I've just invested in a GPS unit to encourage me to go a bit further.

Darren Gregory

Rides a Pinnacle Arkose 3 and a Trek Emonda SL6
Thank you everyone!

Darren, that's the website of dreams, I had no idea it existed, thank you!!