Hello All

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Diz

Another newbie here!

I took up cycling in April and have completed London-Brighton and London-Cambridge this year but am joining to get as much help and advice as I can.

I have had serious knee injuries and honestly thought I'd be destined for the sofa for eternity. Not only have I got fit I have honestly caught the bug.

My next event is the London Bikeathon 100 the London to Paris next year. I will be looking at more training advice as I am a little concerned about cracking the 100. I am comfortably completing 50-55 miles so is it a case of increasing these training rides or simply setting a slower pace on the day?

Anyway thanks for taking the time to read this and hello :smile:

sittingbull

Veteran
Hello and :welcome:

I would add 10-15 miles to your longest ride each week, you'll soon be there! Setting a slower pace may sound good but in practice I find I'd be just as tired (possibly more so) by say the 80 mile mark going slow than if I had ridden at my regular sustainable pace. I'd say 65-70 miles is halfway, don't put any big efforts into the first half :thumbsup:

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Hi and :welcome: Diz.

If you're happy doing 50-55 miles I'd say that, yes it's just a case of steadily increasing the mileage.

On my long rides I will avoid pressing on too much and try to set a pace that it feels like I could do all day. Works for me.

OP
OP
Diz

Diz

Thank you both :thumbsup:

Looking at my work schedule I will be able to fit in 3 larger rides so will go 65 next weekend. When I did L2B I wanted to fit in a ride of that distance so I know I could do it. I don't think I'll have time to fit the "century" in before the day. I will be going out for 3 days a week averaging 20-35 miles on top of the larger rides. it'll be great to crack 100 this summer.