First sportive

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sauce pot

Regular
Hello everyone. I am a complete novice to this cycling.
I got an all signing all dancing road bike in January but only started to go out on it in the last couple of months. Anyway my partner signed us up for the Jurrassic Beast Sportive of 36 miles. He had already done a couple of 100 mile Sportives last year. With grit determination and some help up the hills from my partner I completed the course. I was so proud of myself.
So here I am now looking at what goes on in the cycling community.

Hello everyone. I am a complete novice to this cycling.
I got an all signing all dancing road bike in January but only started to go out on it in the last couple of months. Anyway my partner signed us up for the Jurrassic Beast Sportive of 36 miles. He had already done a couple of 100 mile Sportives last year. With grit determination and some help up the hills from my partner I completed the course. I was so proud of myself.
So here I am now looking at what goes on in the cycling community.
Well done on your ride. As far as the rest of us are concerned, just accept that most of us are a couple of links short of a full chain and you will get on famously!! Welcome!

OP
OP
Sauce pot

Sauce pot

Regular
:welcome:

More of us are OK though (just don't mention helmets and you'll be fine. :whistle:)
I had all those types of things shouted at me at work.

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Whats an Audax? Sounds painful!
It's an older form of challenge ride. The main differences are that you are riding against a time limit, you have to do your own navigation (no arrows to follow or marshalls guiding you at junctions), you're expected to be self sufficient out on the road and they are usually cheaper events to enter.

Audax means audacious which might give an idea about these rides. ;)

derrick

The Glue that binds us together.