Endurance Road Bike and Other Questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bigpappa6

Hi Everyone,

I’m new here. I’ve been riding consistently for a couple of years, but then this year have taken it up a notch. I bought a used road bike and started getting into 30+ miles per ride. Now I’m doing over 50 per ride on weekends I don’t have the kids, and I’m noticing the shortcomings of my steed. It’s a 2010 Felt Z100 that I paid $250 for, and it’s been a solid bike. That said, the clunky shifting is getting annoying (it’s been serviced), there’s no down-shifting on the levers, I’d like disc brakes, I’d like seat compliance, and it only has room for 25mm tires. I’m going to start saving to upgrade next year.

I’d like to stay as close to $2k as reasonably possible. I like to go fast, but only in bursts. I average between 17-20mph for the most part, if it’s flat and no headwind. Comfort and fun for longer rides is what’s important to me. I don’t want a racer, but I don’t want a boring boat either. I don’t care about carbon, but I THINK I would like the 105 groupset, which seems to mostly reside on Carbon. Here’s a bigger concern…